Australia’s World Cup Team Announced

Two Queenslanders are among Australia’s most elite polocrosse players, having been named in the 2019 Australian World Cup team preparing to do battle at Morgan Park in Warwick next April.

Both representing the Tansey Polocrosse Club, they are Lauren Sillitoe and Beth Hafey.
Fellow Queenslander, Cameron Shepherd, is the team’s assistant coach.

Tansey’s Beth Hafey taking the ball up in a polocrosse game at the national championships. Photo – Justine Rowe.

Originally from WA, Lauren was a member of the 2015 World Cup team and has been a representative player of many years.

She was awarded Best No 1, Best Horse and Rider, and Champion ASH trophies in the Open Women’s section at the 2018 Australian national Polocrosse Championships just completed in Western Australia.

This is Beth’s first open representative selection, after being awarded the Best No 3 trophy in the open women’s section at the national championships.

Taking place from 22-29 April 2019, the 2019 Adina Polocrosse World Cup is the biggest international event on the polocrosse calendar and will be the largest international sporting event ever to be held in rural Australia.

It will attract 60,000 spectators, over 2000 international visitors, and 300 players from eight countries – South Africa, USA, UK, NZ, Ireland, Zambia, Zimbabwe and Australia – all battling it out for the sport’s top honour.

Les Fraser, Warwick Polocrosse Club president, hosting the World Cup, said the team was very balanced.

“They will do a great job representing Australia at the World Cup,” he said. “ Some are very experienced while others are up and coming athletes playing for their country for the first time. It is going to be exciting to watch this team perform together.”

Fellow team members:

• Lucy Grills
Lucy has represented Australia in junior, U21 and open Australian sides over many years. Lucy was also a member of the 2015 World Cup team.

• Jim Grills
Jim has been an Australian representative since the junior ranks and is the brother of Lucy Grills. He was awarded Best No 1 in the open men’s section at the 2018 Australian national polocrosse championships.

• Abbott Grills (Albury/Holbrook Polocrosse Club)
The cousin of Lucy and Jim, Abbott represented Australia at the 2015 World Cup. He was awarded Best No 2, Best Horse and Rider, and Champion ASH trophies in the open men’s section; Best Overall Horse, Champion Overall ASH, and Best Overall Horse and Rider Combination at the national championships.

• Lance Anderson (Cassilis Polocrosse Club)
Lance represented Australia at the 2011 World Cup and has been an open representative player for many years.

• Will Weston (Jugiong Polocrosse Club)
Will was a member of the 2011 and 2015 World Cup team and has been an open representative player for many years. He was awarded Best No 3 in the open men’s section, and Best Overall Male Player at the national championships.

From WA:

• Suzette Thomas (South Midlands Polocrosse Club)
Suzette was a member of Australia’s last World Cup winning team in 2007 and is a mainstay of Australian teams.

Supporting the Australian World Cup team are coach Arch Anderson of NSW, assistant coach Cameron Shepherd of Queensland, team manager Pip Crook of WA, and assistant team manager Toni Davidge of NSW, who all have significant experience with representative teams.

Polocrosse is one of only three home-grown Australian sports, along with Aussie Rules football and campdrafting.

The Queensland Government, via Tourism and Events Queensland, is supporting the 2019 Polocrosse World Cup.

Yass Polocrosse Club begins 2019 season in Burradoo

The first weekend of the Yass Polocrosse Club’s 2019 season was at Burradoo across March 9 and March 10, which combined with the Annual Southern Highland Zone Presentations for the 2018 season.

The weekend proved a fun weekend for the kids and a relaxing one for the adults, and a good time for all.

The youngsters evidently spent much of the weekend playing with and training grasshoppers, according to a post on the club’s Facebook page, while the competitors strutted their stuff on the field.

The Yass 1 side were in the A Mixed division and enjoyed a successful weekend as they gave a number of young horses a run.

The Yass 2 side were in the B Mixed competition, and had “a good weekend getting their groove going” the club said and put on a further display of scintillating polocrosse in the final against Milton.

The Yass 3 side competed in the C Open, and played “unbelievably well” against very high quality opponents, which earned them a respectable win-loss record of 2-2 by the end of the weekend.

The club signed off its report on Facebook by adding that “the kids had a great weekend and all played well”.

Yass Club members were in the winner’s circle for both the Burradoo Club competition and the 2018 Annual awards:

Results from Burradoo weekend competition:

  • Yass 2 winners of the B Mixed
  • Sub-junior Encouragement – Cleo Carter
  • Best sub-junior horse – Johnnie Erland’s “Online”
  • Best and Fairest sub-junior – Rainer White
  • Under 21 Female Sportsmanship Award – Prue Bucknell (2 years running)
  • Best B Grade Player – Misty Mitchell

The Annual Southern Highland Zone Awards for 2018 Season – Yass Winners

  • Best Sub-junior Girl – Olivia Erland
  • Best Sub-junior Boy – Riley Clark
  • Encouragement Junior – Bejay Mitchell
  • Most Improved Junior – Dylan Huey
  • Most Improved Female – Aimee Keogh
  • Best B Grade Female – Samantha Carter
  • Best B Grade Male – Ryan Slater
  • Best A Grade Female – Tara Mouat

The club’s congratulations go out to Ryan Slater who was selected in the NSW Under 21 team competing in New Zealand this month.